Published Date
Thumbnail Title
Spearheading Research on Optics

Prof. Kei May LAU Named 2020 OSA Nick Holonyak Jr. Award Recipient

Content Banner
Prof. Kei May Lau is the 2020 recipient of The Optical Society (OSA) Nick Holonyak Jr. Award.
Prof. Kei May Lau is the 2020 recipient of The Optical Society (OSA) Nick Holonyak Jr. Award. [Download Photo]

Prof. Kei May LAU, Fang Professor of Engineering and Chair Professor of Electronic and Computer Engineering (ECE), has been selected as the 2020 recipient of The Optical Society (OSA) Nick Holonyak Jr. Award. She is recognized for significant contributions to hetero-epitaxy of compound semiconductors on silicon for future integrated lasers and advancing the field of light-emitting diode microdisplays.

Prof. Lau’s work focuses on the development of monolithic telecommunication-band diode lasers directly grown on (001) silicon substrates. She combines innovation in metalorganic chemical vapor deposition (MOCVD)-based growth of hetero-structure materials with insights into both device physics and fabrication to improved device performance, to effective multi-device integration. The benefits of integrating high-performance III-V based devices onto a silicon substrate strongly leverages the enormous capabilities and infrastructure of the Si CMOS industry, extending them to photonic and electronic integrated devices/circuits at high frequencies.

2020 OSA President Stephen D. FANTONE said Prof. Lau’s work on semiconductor-based optical devices and materials exemplified the spirit of the Nick Holonyak Jr. Award. “Her contributions in the advancement of science and technological applications are very significant,” he added.

Prof. Lau received BS and MS degrees in Physics from the University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, US and her PhD degree in Electrical Engineering from Rice University, US. She initiated MOCVD, a compound semiconductor material and device programs, while a faculty member at the University of Massachusetts Amherst, US. She joined the ECE Department at the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (HKUST) in 2000 and established the Photonics Technology Center.

She is a Fellow of OSA, Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and Hong Kong Academy of Engineering Sciences. She is a recipient of the IEEE Photonics Society Aron Kressel Award (2017) and the Croucher Senior Research Fellowship (2008).

Prof. Lau joins an esteemed group of past recipients recognized for their outstanding contributions to the field of optics and photonics, including 2014 recipient Prof. TANG Ching-Wan, IAS Bank of East Asia Professor and Chair Professor in the Departments of Electronic & Computer Engineering, Chemistry, and Physics at HKUST.

About the Nick Holonyak Jr. Award

Established in 1997, the Nick Holonyak Jr. Award recognizes significant contributions to optics based on semiconductor-based optical devices and materials, including basic science and technological applications. It honors Holonyak Jr.’s distinguished contributions to the field of optics through the development of semiconductor-based light-emitting diodes and semiconductor lasers. The award is endowed by SDL Ventures, LLC, and Donald and Carol Scifres.

About The Optical Society

Founded in 1916, The Optical Society (OSA) is the leading professional organization for scientists, engineers, students and business leaders who fuel discoveries, shape real-life applications and accelerate achievements in the science of light. Through world-renowned publications, meetings and membership initiatives, OSA provides quality research, inspired interactions and dedicated resources for its extensive global network of optics and photonics experts.

Related link: