In Focus - Issue 35 (Spring 2023)

Prof. FU Lin, Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering and Mathematics, received an Early Career Award / from the Research Grants Council of Hong Kong for his project to advance flow prediction technology in aerospace engineering. HKUST Prof. Anthony LEUNG, Civil and Environmental Engineering, received the Outstanding Young Geotechnical Engineer Award from the International Society for Soil Mechanics and Geotechnical Engineering. Prof. Wei SHYY, former HKUST President and now Professor Emeritus of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, has been made an O cer in the National Order of the Legion of Honor by the French government. Prof. ZHOU Xiaofang (le ), Head and Chair Professor of Computer Science and Engineering, and Prof. WANG Jiguang (right), Life Science and Chemical & Biological Engineering, have been honored with HKUST named professorships. Prof. Zhou has been named Otto Poon Professor of Engineering, while Prof. Wang has been appointed Padma Harilela Associate Professor of Life Science. Associate Dean of Engineering (Undergraduate Studies) Prof. WANG Yu-Hsing, Civil and Environmental Engineering, has been elected a Fellow of the American Society of Civil Engineers. Prof. Desmond TSOI, Computer Science and Engineering, was awarded the prestigious Michael G. Gale Medal for Distinguished Teaching for . Prof. Tsoi was also one of four faculty members to receive School of Engineering Teaching Excellence Appreciation Awards , being selected for the top accolade, the Distinguished Teaching Award, for the second time. Prof. Winnie LEUNG, Integrative Systems and Design, Prof. Larry LI, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, and Prof. Dimitris PAPADOPOULOS, Computer Science and Engineering, received Teaching Awards. Three engineering faculty and sta were recognized in the HKUST Common Core Teaching Excellence Award for designing and teaching exemplary common core courses. Prof. Kenneth LEUNG, Computer Science and Engineering, received the award for COMP Discrete Mathematical Tools for Computer Science, while Mr. Malinda ABEYNAYAKE and Mr. Joel YU (pictured together), Student Innovation for Global Health Technology (SIGHT) team, received an Honorary Mention for ENGG Design Thinking for Health Innovation. 29 IN FOCUS